Fools and madmen

Den heutigen Text will ich zur Abwechslung mal auf Englisch und Deutsch veröffentlichen. Nach dem englischen Originaltext folgt eine deutsche Uebersetzung.

Part one – English version

I’m sitting in biology class and we are talking about vitamins. More specifically we are talking about vitamin deficiencies. The effects that a lack of vitamins can have on humans. Our teacher thinks that visual learning is the best way of approaching the subject. Large-scale, high definition pictures of diseases like scurvy and rickets leave a lasting impression on my mind as well as on my stomach. It’s 12.10pm  and we are having our short lunch break. Funnily enough, I’m not that hungry at the moment, as I’m still thinking about the vitamins. My friends start chatting about something they keep calling a “pink day”. Apparently, a “pink day” is a special day, where everyone can wear whatever he or she wants to wear. The next “pink day” is scheduled for this coming Friday. It’s a charity event and everyone is supposed to bring 2 euros. I’m not sure if all of this is really true or if they are trying to play a joke on me. The consequences of not wearing the school uniform are well known! If it’s true then it will be a fun experience. Back in Switzerland wearing everyday clothes to school is normal but here they have made a special event of it.

1459-oh-god-meme (1)

After the break, the next lesson is religion.Today we are talking about gender roles.The teacher shows us a short video clip about some Disney characters. The men are fighting dragons while the women are cooking and cleaning the house. The teacher lets us discuss what we think about the video and we are encouraged to voice our opinions. The general consensus among the class is that if a man wants to stay at home and cook and clean, he can and if a woman wants to see the world and “fight dragons” she can do that too. Today men and women are equal, at least in modern western society including Ireland.

tumblr_n995nqL0tC1thkqcyo1_500

After religion class is over I’m pushing my way through the corridor to get to our room. I have to stop because it’s too crowded. Suddenly I notice that I’m standing in the middle of a PE-class and that they have just come directly from their sports double lesson. You remember that there are no showers at the school and that you just walk to class in your sports clothes? This is not a problem when there’s just one person but what if you are surrounded by a whole team of sweaty students? I’m holding my breath and I’m trying to get through the crowd. I’m convinced that I will faint the minute I start to breathe again. Thank god, some of my friends do not have a sense of smell at all so they can push forward and I can follow in their wake.

dude-you-stink-up-the-room

Tomorrow, we will be tested on “King Lear”. We’re supposed to remember the most famous quotes from the play by Shakespeare. Let me end by hoping that the following will NOT happen (or I will surely fail the test):

This cold night will turn us all to fools and madmen.” (Quote from King Lear)

Zweiter Teil – Deutsche Version

Heute geht es in der Biologie um Vitamine. Wie wichtig diese sind aber vor allem auch was passiert wenn man keine nimmt. Welchen Effekt haben fehlende Vitamine auf den menschlichen Organismus? Visuelles Lernen bleibt einem am besten denkt der Lehrer und zeigt uns grässliche Bilder von Krankheiten. Mit dem Beamer geht das in High Definition und in voller Grösse. Tatsächlich hat Das Gelernte bei mir einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen, vor allem auch auf meinen Magen. In der Mittagspause habe ich komischerweise gar keinen Hunger. Stattdessen spreche ich mit meinen Kollegen über den „Pink Day“. Offenbar handelt es sich um einen Wohltätigkeitsanlass. Jeder darf seine normale Alltagskleidung tragen für einen Tag. Dazu sollte jeder 2 Euro spenden für einen guten Zweck. Entweder nehmen mich die Kollegen auf den Arm oder es stimmt tatsächlich. Die Konsequenzen unerlaubt ohne Uniform zu erscheinen sind mir sehr wohl bekannt. Auf jeden Fall ist die Idee sehr spassig. In der Schweiz trägt man immer seine Alltagssachen und hier macht man einen speziellen Anlass daraus.

Nach der Pause geht es weiter mit Religion und dem Thema „Geschlechter-Rollen“. Dazu sollen wir einen Film schauen indem Disney Charaktere spielen. Männer kämpfen darin gegen Drachen und Frauen waschen und kochen. Im Anschluss sollen wir diskutieren und unsere Meinung dazu abgeben. In der Klasse herrscht ein Konsens, dass in der modernen westlichen Welt inklusive Irland heute eigentlich jeder machen kann was ihm gefällt. Wenn Frauen gerne „Drachen töten“ wollen steht ihnen das offen genauso wie Männer zu Hause bleiben und putzen und kochen können.

Nach der Religionsstunde schiebe ich mich wie üblich durch die überfüllten Gänge. An einem Ort komme ich nicht weiter und bleibe stehen. Da bemerke ich, dass ich inmitten einer Klasse stehe, die gerade von der Sport-Doppelektion zurückgekehrt ist. Hatte ich erwähnt, dass es keine Duschen gibt? Man geht direkt im Sportdress zum nächsten Unterricht. Bei einer Person ist das ja kein Problem aber wenn man direkt in einer Gruppe von 20 verschwitzten Schülen steht? Ich halte die Luft and versuche mich durchzukämpfen. Ich bin mir sicher, dass ich ihn Ohnmacht falle sobald ich wieder durch die Nase einatme. Einige meiner Freunde haben keinen Geruchssinn und bahnen sich einen Weg. Ich folge hinterher…. Luft!

Morgen werden wir auf „King Lear“ Zitate getestet. Das ist ein sehr berühmtes Stück von Shakespeare. Hoffen wir, dass folgendes NICHT passiert sonst falle ich durch:

„Diese kalte Nacht wird uns alle in Narren und Verrückte verwandeln.“ (Zitat aus King Lear).

One thought on “Fools and madmen

  1. Hello Tim! Well, I like both versions! The english one is very good for me, so I can exercise a little bit! 😉 Have a nice day! 😉
    Greets, Emmi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

