Pink day

Die gestrige zweisprachige Publikation ist auf ein positives Echo gestossen und so werde ich das eine Weile so fortführen. Hier also wieder zuerst der englische, dann der deutsche Text.

English Version

studying-memeWe are sitting in our English class and everyone is quite nervous. Why? Our teacher is standing in front of us and holding a stack of tests. To prepare for the test, we had to learn about a hundred Shakespeare quotes by heart. For me, this meant studying all night because the quotes are quite hard to remember. At one point, I was thinking about simply grabbing all my books and throwing them all out the window. But then I kept on going and I also continued to study this morning during breakfast and on my way to school, on the school bus.

2e94127a47165ac51665c70f42a8c37ff48b465397a3d4e2873ab7dfe9e0a8f8Sometimes I find it hard to motivate myself for the studying. The main reason is, as I have already explained, that the tests do not count towards the final grades. In other words, they test are meaningless. When you get a bad grade, the teacher will shout at you, but that’s all. Sometimes you can even just repeat the test again. So the way I motivate myself is that I think about what it means for me personally to finish the exchange year at the highest level.

But when we finally get the test sheets, it’s not as bad as I thought. In fact, the whole test is quite easy and I’m sure that I’m going to get at least a passing grade! It looks like all my studying has paid off.

exams-i-passed-them-already (1)

Chuck Norris doesn’t take exams, he just passes them!

On the way to my PE class I notice a ton of advertising posters on the walls. Yesterday I told you about the yearly event called “Pink Day”. As it turns out, the reason this is called “Pink day” is simply that you are supposed to wear something pink. As said, it’s for charity, more clearly to support the fight against cancer. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pink clothes and I don’t think I’m going to buy something just for the one day. So I’ll probably end up just donating the money but without the dressing up part. Call me old fashioned, but to me pink is a colour for girls. Next year they should call it the green day but of course that name is already blocked by the punk band of the same name….

cm4Z6hj

I don’t want to look like a pink Heisenberg…!

054c4df54090632104b337aa69942b24955697973901498d59e0f3c3964acde5I still haven’t been able to get a hold of the new Maths book. The teacher yells at me and tells me that I should order the book online if I can’t get it at the store. I tell her, that I have already tried this but my Swiss banking card is not authorized for online shopping. Here I quote my teacher “I don’t care, you are not a first year student! Just make it happen!” In the end, a friend of mine helps me and lends me his spare math book.

Tomorrow, my IEC will visit me to see how I’m doing. The IEC is my contact at EF (my exchange year organisation). Whenever I have questions or problems, I can turn to her. So far, everything is going great and I have had no reason to contact her.


Deutsche Version

Wir sitzen im Englisch-Unterricht und sind alle ziemlich nervös. Warum? Vor uns steht unsere Englisch-Lehrerin und sie trägt einen Stapel von Tests bei sich. Wir mussten ca. hundert verschiedene Shakespeare Zitate auswendig lernen. Ich bin fast die ganze Nacht auf geblieben um zu lernen. Die Zitate sind gar nicht so einfach! Einmal war ich soweit, dass ich einfach am liebsten all meine Schulbücher aus dem Fenster geworfen hätte. Doch dann habe ich mir noch einmal einen Ruck gegeben und weiter gelernt. Auch heute Morgen beim Frühstück und auch auf dem Weg in die Schule, auf dem Schulbus habe ich noch die Gelegenheit genutzt zum Ueben.

Es ist nicht immer einfach, sich für die Tests zu motivieren. Die Noten zählen nicht für Abschluss und haben darum keine besondere Bedeutung. Ist man schlecht, gibt’s einen bösen Blick oder ein paar böse Worte vom Lehrer und sonst nichts. Manchmal kann man den Test sogar einfach wiederholen. Ich denke dann daran, was es mir persönlich bringt wenn ich das Jahr auf einem hohen Level abschliesse und so schaffe ich es, dass ich trotzdem motiviert bleibe.

Als wir den Test endlich erhalten ist er gar nicht so schlimm wie ich gedacht habe. Im Gegenteil, er kommt mir sogar einfach vor. Offenbar hat sich das Lernen doch gelohnt. Ich bin mir jetzt sicher, dass ich keine schlechte Note haben werde.

Auf dem Weg in die nächste Stunde bemerke ich die vielen Poster an der Wand. Beworben wird der bereits angekündigte „Pink Day“. Er heisst so, weil man an diesem Tag ein pinkes Kleidungsstück tragen sollte. Es ist für einen guten Zweck, also gegen Krebs glaube ich. Ich habe aber leider keine rosaroten Sachen und ich denke auch nicht daran nur für einen Tag so was zu kaufen. Ich werde also vermutlich einfach das Geld spenden und auf die Verkleidung verzichten. Vielleicht bin ich altmodisch, aber ist Pink nicht eine Frauenfarbe? Bitte nennt den Tag nächstes Jahr „Green Day“. Oder geht das nicht weil eine bekannte Punk Band schon so heisst?

Leider habe ich es noch immer nicht geschafft, dass neue Mathe-Buch zu besorgen. Meine Lehrerin ist gar nicht begeistert und findet ich könne das Buch ja online bestellen. Leider geht das für mich nicht, weil meine Schweizer Kreditkarte nicht für Online Shopping freigegeben ist. Die Antwort der Lehrerin „Mir egal, Du bist ja kein Erstjahr-Student! Finde eine Lösung.“. Zum Glück leiht mir ein Kollege ein Buch, er hat offenbar zwei davon.

Morgen wird mich meine IEC besuchen um zu sehen wie es mir so ergeht. Eine IEC ist eine Kontaktperson der EF (das ist meine Austauschjahr-Organisation). Wenn ich Probleme oder Fragen habe, kann ich mich jederzeit an die IEC wenden. Da bisher alles problemlos lief, gab es für mich dazu keinen Grund.

10 thoughts on “Pink day

    • Hello Megan – As a young man, I spent some time on the beaches of Norfolk. For me, this is the true English countryside. Later I learned to drive on the roads of Ireland. I drove like a young devil (in disguise, of course). The Irish used to call me ‘Elvis’ because of my beautifully combed hair. I follow Tim’s blog because he reminds me of myself when I was young. He too has the ‘Elvis’ looks. But when I saw that an English lady is following the blog, I just had to write a short comment!

      Like

  1. Ich finde es ziemlich gut, dass du auch auf englisch schreibst, da lern ich sicher auch was dabei 😉
    (Vorallem kann ich mir selbst sagen ich würde beim Bloggen lernen, damit ich kein schlechtes Gewissen bekomme ;D)
    Leihe dir doch einfach ein rosa Shirt, ich will ein Foto sehen ! ^^
    Liebe Grüße
    Melli

    Like

Leave a Reply

