Pictures in the Rain

English

I hope you enjoyed the “Dublin at Christmas” pictures from the last Blog post. Here’s some background on how and when I took the pictures.

christmas-ornament-border-clipart-Transparent_Christmas_Blue_Ornament_ClipartIt was the 23. Of December and as I was looking out of my window, I could see the spirit of Christmas everywhere. Everything was covered in Christmas decorations, and not just buildings, even cars were decorated Christmas-style. So I wondered, what will it be like in the centre of Dublin?

As I don’t have to study for school, I have a lot of spare time at the moment, so I took my camera and made my way to the bus station. There was a light drizzle outside, as is normal for Ireland at this time of the year. But as I was looking through the bus window, the rain got a lot worse with each passing minute.

IMG_3799[1]Still, I thought nothing of this, as the weather here can change very quickly.  I was hoping it might change back to a light drizzle long before the bus was due to arrive in the city centre. But it never stopped! So I immediately had to look for shelter as I got out of the bus. I waited for a couple of minutes but then I realized, it might stay like this the whole day. So like a true Irishman, I ignored the foul weather, took out my camera and started to take pictures. Every couple of minutes I had to stop and wipe away the raindrops from the lens with piece of soft and lens-friendly cloth.

How-Batteries-DieMost of the pictures are from the area surrounding O’Connell Street which is right in the centre of Dublin. Normally, this area is packed with people. The bad weather had one advantage: people stayed at home and the streets were empty. Perfect for taking pictures of Dublin’s famous monuments. The worst point came when I wanted to take a picture of “the spire”. To get the right angle, I had to point the camera upwards and heavy raindrops were splashing on my face. But it was funny to see all the water running down “the Spire”.

As time was passing, my clothes got more and more soaked, and eventually the battery of the camera died.  So I made my way back to the bus station. As I was standing on the bridge I had a very nice view of the river and the city. So I turned on my camera for the last time and took a final picture just in time before the battery was completely empty. This final picture is one of my favourite images from that day.

DSC01624

Now I hope I’m not going to catch a cold from that day! My next blog post will be about the Christmas dinner, so check back soon… I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas yourself.

ChristmasTree


Deutsch

Ich hoffe euch haben die Fotos meines letzten Beitrages “Weihnachtliches Dublin“ gefallen. Hier sind einige Informationen dazu wie und wann ich die Bilder gemacht habe.

Es war am 23. Dezember und ich schaute aus dem Fenster. Ueberal weihnachtete es bereits sehr. Alles war mit Weihnachtsdekorationen übersät, und ich meine nicht nur Gebäude, nein, auch Autos kamen im Weihnachtslook daher. Also überlegte ich mir, wie sieht es jetzt wohl im Zentrum von Dublin aus?

Ich muss im Moment nichts für die Schule machen und habe viel Zeit, also nahm ich meine Kamera und machte mich auf den Weg zur Busstation. Draussen regnete es leicht aber das ist normal für Irland um diese Jahreszeit. Als ich aber aus dem Busfenster schaute, merkte ich wie der Regen jede Minute stärker wurde.

Ich dachte mir dabei aber nichts, weil das Wetter ändert sich hier immer sehr schnell. Ich dachte es würde dann einfach nur wieder leicht regnen, und dass das Wetter nicht mehr so schlimm sein würde, wenn ich Dublin ankomme. Aber es hörte nicht auf! Ich musste gleich aus dem Bus rennen und mir einen Unterschlupf gegen den Regen suchen. Ich wartete ein par Minuten aber dann merkte ich, es bleibt vermutlich den ganzen Tag so. Also verhielt ich mich wie ein richtiger Ire und ignorierte einfach das schlechte Wetter und begann zu fotografieren. Ich musste alllerdings alle paar Minuten anhalten und die Linse mit einem weichen Kameratuch abwischen.

Die meisten Bilder sind von der Gegend um O’Connell Street, das ist ziemlich im Stadtzentrum. Da hat’s normalerweise immer ziemlich viele Leute. Das miese Wetter hatte den Vorteil, dass es fast menschenleer war. Also ideales Wetter um Fotos von Dublins berühmten Monumenten zu machen. Der schlimmste Moment war, als ich Fotos von „The Spire“ machen wollte. Um das Monument im richtigen Winkel zu fotografieren musste ich die Kamera mit der Linse nach oben halten. Schwere Regentropfen peitschen mir direkt ins Gesicht! Aber es war auch lustig zu sehen, wie der Regen am „Spire“ herunterfloss.

Die Zeit verging, und meine Kleider wurden immer mehr durchnässt und zuletzt gab die Batterie noch ihren Geist auf. Also machte ich mich zurück auf den Weg zur Busstation. Als ich auf der Brücke stand hatte ich nochmals einen wunderbaren Blick über den Fluss und die Stadt. Also schaltete ich die Kamera noch ein letztes Mal ein und dann war es aber endgültig fertig mit der Batterie. Dieses letzte Bild des Tages ist eins meiner Lieblingsbilder.

Also jetzt hoffe ich, dass ich mich nicht erkältet habe! Im nächsten Beitrag schreibe ich dann über das Weihnachtsessen, schaut doch mal wieder vorbei. Ich hoffe, ihr hattet alle ein tolles Weihnachtsfest.

12 thoughts on “Pictures in the Rain

  1. Die im Regen radelnden Radfahrer sind ja herrlich! :-)) Danke, dass du bei dem Regen so tapfer und irischmäßig durchgehalten hast mit dem Fotografieren. Ich hoffe sehr, eine Erkältung bleibt aus.

    Bin schon fix gespannt auf deinen Bericht vom Weihnachtsessen, Tim! ^^

    LG Michèle

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love to hear the background of the stunning pictures you posted…I really enjoy your description of the picture-taking, as it gives the photos a personal context, and I felt like I was there with you as you took them. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Like

  3. Thank you very much for the compliment :-)!
    My readers should immerse themselves in my words, that’s the plan. Your comments tell me that this has worked and I’m glad. Cheers, Tim

    Like

Leave a Reply

