Irish Christmas Reloaded

English

wolf-moon-artwork-1920x1200It was a typical freezing winter day in Ireland, the icy wind was blowing and everything was covered by heavy clouds of fog. It was still dark when I made my way to the bus station. The scenery reminded me of one of those classic B-movies where creatures of the night suddenly jump out of the fog and attack. A full moon was breaking through the clouds and the mood was strange and gloomy.

I could see the headlights of the bus approaching through the fog otherwise I might have missed it and would probably have been caught by a werewolf and dragged to some remote cave dwelling. They say that garlic can keep vampires away but a werewolf actually welcomes garlic because that way he can spice up his meal.

worried-omg-run-male-l (1)

Anyway, as soon as I passed the school doors I felt safe, because they lock up the school building during the day. They always tell us that those closed doors should prevent us from sneaking outside during class, but it’s probably also to keep strange creatures from entering the halls. Werewolves don’t carry school ID cards.

Download (1)Do you remember the King Lear essay I had to write at the end of the school term? Today as I was sitting in English class, I noticed a stack of these essays on my teacher’s desk.  Out teacher tells us that we still have to improve a lot and explains us our mistakes in details before she returns the graded essays. Whenever she talked about a mistake my first thought was: “Oh no, I think I did that too!” I’m starting to get a bad feeling about this. In the end, it turns out that I got a C1 which is a passing grade but not as good as I had hoped. The best grade was a B3, so I guess everyone had a a hard time with the difficult subject.

jackie-chan-wtf-meme-face-70958233396To make matters worse, the principal then announces the schedule for the January exams. They are going start two weeks from today and will cover everything we’ve learned so far in all subjects. The chemistry exam has been scheduled for next Friday. I guess I can say goodbye to another relaxing weekend. The holidays are well and truly over!

before_after_christmas_plaque-r3ec0fea7227e4a0eb599a0bbcf1249f4_ar56b_8byvr_324Speaking of holidays: As promised here is part two of story of Tim’s Irish Christmas. In this second part I’m going to tell you about the 25th of December and the actual Christmas day! What did you get for Christmas Tim? I got fat, that’s what I got, but also a few other gifts. I woke up at noon, walked downstairs where Margaret was already waiting for me with presents in her hand, presents for me! Unfortunately there was a condition I had to accept before she was willing to give me those presents. At first I thought that it couldn’t be that big of a deal and those presents were looking to nice to say no anyway.

The next thing I remember is sitting on the couch and being quite embarrassed. Why? The picture says it all. Do you notice the Christmas hat and the incredibly silly tie? I felt like Christmas clown. Of course, everyone else was also wearing a Christmas outfit so I was able to blend right in.

bigstock-Santa-Claus-show-ok-isolated-o-38669275

Now that I was suitably dressed for the occasion, it was time to open the presents. I got a new cotton pyjama. Remember that my room is in the attic and that it can get a bit chilly especially during the winter season. So a warm pyjama is the perfect present. I also got a lot of chocolate and sweets.

WM7r3TiRemember my Blog post “Dreaming of an Irish Christmas” when I asked you for ideas for presents for my host family? Some of you have suggested baking or cooking for the family and actually that’s what I was planning to do. Unfortunately, we’ve had a small fire in the kitchen during the holiday. I swear, I had nothing to do with it this time! Remembering my own unfortunate accident with the mixer made me think twice about returning to the kitchen and the fire made me think that the kitchen might be cursed. So I decided on a different and more traditional present: Chocolate.

You should have seen me climbing down those stairs and carrying all the chocolate I bought. There are so many different types and flavours of chocolate that I decided to just buy them all:

toblerone-pieces-webToblerone, chocolate bars, chocolate gift boxes and more. I was the spirit of Chocolate Christmas… My Host-Family loves chocolate, so this was a very good idea. But I still ask myself how we were able to eat all this chocolate so fast.  A few days after Christmas everything was gone already! And that’s on top of everything else we ate that evening including the delicious Christmas dinner.

We started dinner at about three o’clock which was earlier than usual but there was so much to eat and so little time! There was so food, and I already felt full after the starter. It was so much that even two weeks after Christmas, I still get lunch sandwiches for school filled with Christmas ham. But I’m not complaining, in fact everything was absolutely delicious including the giant stuffed Christmas turkey.

After the Christmas dinner I couldn’t move for at least an hour, as I felt so full. And just when I thought I could not eat a single bite more, it was time for dessert: Christmas pudding! Robert had to set it ablaze with whisky first, which was an interesting experience. I know that I have some younger readers, so pleased kids don’t try this at home!

After this wonderful dinner we then went into the living room and watched some Christmas movies together. Every now and then one of us would head for the kitchen to get another round of dessert…

Here are some pictures of this memorable Christmas dinner.

hyperlink

CLICK ON ME!


Deutsch

Es war ein typischer kalter Wintertag in Irland. Der eisige Wind blies und alles versank in einem dichten Nebel. Es war noch ziemlich dunkel als ich mich auf den Weg zur Busstation machte. Die Umgebung erinnerte mich an einen dieser klassischen B-Movies, bei denen schreckliche Kreaturen plötzlich aus dem Nebel erscheinen und angreifen. Durch den Nebel sah man ab und zu den Vollmond und es war alles sehr seltsam und düster.

Zum Glück sah ich die Lichter des Buses durch den Nebel. Hätte ich den Bus verpasst wäre ich vermutlich von einem Werwolf gefangen worden und wäre jetzt irgendwo in einer finsteren Höhle. Man sagt ja, dass Knoblauch gegen Vampire wirkt aber bei Werwölfen ist es eher nicht geeignet. Werwölfe freuen sich eher über Knoblauch weil das gibt der Mahlzeit den gewissen Geschmack.

Sobald ich mich im Inneren des Schulgebäudes befand fühlte ich mich sicher, denn das Gebäude wird tagsüber abgeschlossen. Angeblich damit die Schüler nicht während des Schultages das Gelände verlassen aber ich glaube es dient mehr auch dazu seltsame Kreaturen von den Gängen und Klassenräumen fernzuhalten. Werwölfe tragen nun mal keine Schülerausweise bei sich.

Erinnert ihr euch an das ‚King Lear‘ Aufsatzthema, dass ich vor den Schulferien noch schreiben musste? Heute, als ich da so im Englischunterricht sass, bemerkte ich einen Stapel mit Aufsätzen auf dem Lehrerpult. Die Lehrerin erklärt uns, dass wir noch einiges zu lernen und verbessern hätten. Sie erklärt uns im Detail alle Fehler, die wir gemacht haben bevor sie die korrigierten Arbeiten austeilt. Immer wenn sie einen bestimmten Fehler erklärte, war jeweils mein erster Gedanke: „Oh nein, ich glaube das habe ich auch so gemacht!“ Ich bekam langsam ein schlechtes Gefühl. Am Ende stellte sich heraus, dass ich eine C1 bekommen habe. Das ist eine ausreichende Note aber leider nicht so gut wie ich es erhofft habe. Der beste Schüler hatte eine B3 was auch nicht überragend ist. Es sieht wohl so aus als ob das Thema für alle ziemlich schwer war.

Kaum hatte ich das verarbeitet, kam das Thema auf die Januar-Prüfungen. Der Principal stellte uns den Zeitplan für diese Zwischenprüfungen vor. Sie beginnen schon in zwei Wochen und wir werden über alle Fächer getestet und zu allem was wir bisher gelernt haben. Das Chemie-Examen ist sogar schon nächsten Freitag! Somit ist es jetzt wohl vorbei mit den gemütlichen Wochenenden. Mit Wehmut denke ich an die Weihnachtsferien zurück.

Wenn wir gerade von Weihnachtferien sprechen: Wie versprochen kommt jetzt Teil zwei von Tims Weihnachtsgeschichte. In dieser Fortsetzung geht es jetzt um den 25ten Dezember, besser bekannt auch als Weihnachtstag. Was hast Du zu Weihnachten bekommen, Tim? Ein paar Kilo mehr Weihnachtsspeck, das habe ich bekommen aber natürlich auch noch ein paar andere Geschenke. Ich erwachte um die Mittagszeit, ging nach unten und dort wartete bereits Margaret auf mich mit Geschenken. Das ganze hatte aber einen kleinen Haken. Um die Geschenke zu bekommen musste ich eine Bedingung akzeptieren. Ich dachte mir dabei eigentlich nicht viel, und sagte spontan zu, natürlich mit dem Gedanken an die Geschenke.

Das nächste an das ich mich erinnere, ist das ich mit einem Weihnachtshut und einer Weihnachtskrawatte auf der Couch sitze und mich etwa so fühle wie ein Weihnachtsclown. Auf dem Bild seht ihr wie mein Weihnachts-Outfit aussieht…. Es war aber nicht so schlimm, denn alle anderen trugen ja auch eine Weihnachts-Verkleidung.

Jetzt wo ich also passend zum Anlass angezogen war, konnte ich die Geschenke öffnen. Ich bekam einen Baumwoll-Pyjama. Ihr erinnert euch, dass mein Zimmer im Dachstock ist und dass es gerade im Winter recht kalt sein kann. Ein warmer Pyjama ist also genau das richtige Geschenk für kalte Tage! Neben dem Pyjama bekam ich auch noch viele Süssigkeiten geschenkt.

Erinnert ihr euch noch am meinen Beitrag „Dreaming of an Irish Christmas“ als ich euch nach Tipps für Geschenke für die Gastfamile gefragt hatte? Einige von euch haben vorgeschlagen, ich sollte doch etwas backen oder kochen und eigentlich hatte ich das auch vor. Leider hatten wir während der Feiertage ein kleines Feuer in der Küche. Ich schwöre, diesmal hatte ich nichts damit zu tun! Zudem erinnerte mich das Feuer an meinen eigenen kleinen Unfall mit dem Mixer. Zwei Vorfälle in so kurzer Zeit, vielleicht ist die Küche verhext? Also entschloss ich mich zu einem etwas traditionelleren Geschenk: Schokolade.

Ihr hättet mich sehen sollen, wie ich schwer beladen mit Schokolade die Treppe herunter gestolpert kam. Es gibt ja so viele verschiedene Arten von Schokolade, dass ich mich entschieden habe einfach alle zu kaufen: Toblerone, Schoko-Riegel, Schoko-Geschenkboxen und vieles mehr. Ich fühlte mich wie der gute Geist der Weihnachts-Schokolade… Meine Gastfamilie liebt Schokolade und die Idee war ein Erfolg. Ich frage mich allerdings immer noch wie wir diesen riesigen Berg Schokolade in so kurzer Zeit wegputzen konnten. Schon wenige Tage nach Weihnachten war alles weg! Und dass neben all den anderen Sachen, die wir an diesem Tag gegessen haben und dem köstlichen Weihnachts-Abendessen.

Wir begannen schon um drei Uhr nachmittags mit dem Weihnachts-Dinner. Dass scheint etwas früh aber es gab einfach so viel zu Essen und so wenig Zeit! Schon nach der Vorspeise fühlte ich mich satt. Es gab so viel zu Essen, dass ich jetzt auch zwei Wochen nach Weihnachten immer noch jeden Tag Sandwiches gefüllt mit dem Weihnachts-Schinken in die Schule mitnehme. Aber ich beklage mich nicht, im Gegenteil. Alles war absolut köstlich, besonders auch der riesige, gefüllte Truthahn.

Nach dem Essen konnte ich mich für mindestes eine Stunde nicht mehr bewegen, so satt war ich. Gerade als ich dachte, jetzt kann ich aber keinen Bissen mehr herunterkriegen, da wurde der Weihnachts-Pudding aufgetischt.

Robert musste ihn zuerst mit Whisky übergiessen und flambieren, eine spannende aber auch nicht ganz ungefährliche Aktion. Ich weiss, dass einige jüngere Leser meinen Blog verfolgen, darum bitte: versucht das auf gar keinen Fall zu Hause!

Nach diesem wunderbaren Essen ging es dann ins Wohnzimmer wo wir uns noch zusammen einige Weihnachtsfilme anschauten. Ab und zu verschwand wieder jemand in der Küche um sich dort mit einer weiteren Portion Weihnachts-Pudding einzudecken…

Hier noch einige Bilder vom legendären Weihnachtsessen

12 thoughts on “Irish Christmas Reloaded

  1. Die Verkleidung würde ich auch zu gern einmal sehen. Kann mir gar nicht vorstellen, dass du zugenommen hast…nie nicht!
    LG und Viel Erfolg bei deinen Klausuren.

    Like

    • Liebe Nixe
      Vielen Dank für die guten Wünsche!
      Und ja, das mit der Verkleidung… hmm.
      Wie ein Clown… 😉
      Es war aber amüsant (und das ist ja die Hauptsache)…
      Herzlichst, Tim

      Like

  2. Wow! That’s a lot of work that you do for your blog when you write in English and German! I hope you’ll continue! Besides, what a pity that I didn’t see your Christmas story before! I’d have loved to share it! A Happy new year again! And thanks for the follow!

    Like

    • Yes, but it’s worth it. But I’m a bit lazy at the moment and also there’s a lot of homework. Sorry, for the delay in new articles but as we Swiss say “der innere Schweinehund” (litteraly ‘the swine within’ or to fight one’s own weaknesses) is keeping me from doing more.Thank you for reading my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing your Christmas experiences in Ireland – and I commend you for your blogs in English as well…well done! As for King Lear, it is a text I also teach, usually to my oldest students, and it is certainly a challenging text to read and to write about. While it’s not my favorite of Shakespeare’s tragedies (that would probably be Hamlet), it is still worthwhile…but I thought you might also like to know that there is a Pulitzer Prize winning modern novel version of King Lear that you might enjoy. It’s called A Thousand Acres, by Jane Smiley, and it’s set on an American farm in Iowa in the 1980’s. My students enjoy reading it after they’ve read Shakespeare’s version first. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Like

    • That’s a great tip, I’ll be sure to check it out. We have not looked at Hamlet yet but I’m sure we will do so soon. I’m looking forward to it … NOT. 😉 Best wishes Tim

      Like

Leave a Reply

