Frankenstein’s History Lesson

Englisch:

Blog_12111School had just started and everyone was trying get to their classroom. The corridors looked, as always, like battlefields. Students were pushing, screaming and running through the narrow and overcrowded hallways. Nevertheless I can’t blame them, everyone knows the consequences for being late. No one wants to get punished, just because he was kind enough to wait until the corridor was empty; ruthlessness as the only way out. This applies to me too and the fact that I am Swiss only made it even more necessary to be on time. I literally jumped into the crowd and gave everything to get through it. Suddenly I was standing in front of some sort of a green, grunting creature.

zombie14Before I was able to find out more about this mysterious green thing, it disappeared back into the crowd. But what was even more disturbing was the behaviour of the pupils around me. After the zombie sighting, they acted like this is normal here in Adamstown Community College. This made me suspicious and so  I began to plan my escape route in case of a sudden zombie apocalypse.

I continued walking and on my way to my classroom I also saw a princess and a fairy… There were now only a few possible reasons for those strange incidences left. Either someone found it funny to put a hallucinogenic drug into my breakfast, or I was about to lose my mind.

free-vector-medicine-jar-clip-art_111166_Medicine_Jar_clip_art_hight

lSBf1A1425597526Fortunately it was neither of the above, but a special day called “World Book Day”. “Today’s main aim is to encourage children to explore the pleasure of books and reading”, our history teacher (who was disguised ad Frankenstein) explained. Apparently most of our teachers dressed up as a famous character out of a book of their choice. It was an extremely funny day, although I wasn’t very productive. I mean could you concentrate on your work while Frankenstein is watching you?

Anyway, If you saw my last Blog post you should know what I did last weekend (next to watching House of Cards all day long). I went playing Airsoft with Walter, a school friend. For everyone who doesn’t know what Airsoft is:

Airsoft is a sport in which participants eliminate opponents by hitting each other with spherical non-metallic pellets launched via replica firearms called Airsoft guns.

1197119420758017922nicubunu_Film.svg.hiIt was absolutely awesome and Walter even filmed it. The video is in my last Blog post, but you propably won’t find me in it as we fought in different locations of the building during that specific game he recorded. Nevertheless you will see Airsoft in action and I also took quite a few pictures of the building.

First Paintball and now Airsoft? Yes and it was amazing, but don’t worry, I’m not thinking about joining the IRA or something like that. I just like gun sports, maybe it’s because I used to be quite good at air pressure rifle shooting. I have quite some experience and have already won some contests.

These pictures were taken a couple of years ago, when I won second place in a competitive shooting event called “Goldiger Züri Träffer”.


Deutsch:

Die Schule hat gerade erst begonnen und jeder versuchte zu seinem Klassenzimmer zu gelangen. Die Korridore sahen, wie fast immer auch heute wieder so aus wie Schlachtfelder. Schüler schubsten, schrien und rannten durch den total überfüllten Korridor. Trotzdem kann ich es ihnen nicht verübeln, jeder kennt die Konsequenzen für’s zu spät kommen. Keiner will bestraft werden, nur weil er nett genug war um zu warten bis der Gang leer ist; Rücksichtslosigkeit als der einzige Ausweg. Dies traf auch für mich zu und die Tatsache dass ich Schweizer bin, machte es noch wichtiger pünktlich zu sein. I sprang buchstäblich in die Menge und gab alles um durchzukommen. Plötzlich stand ich vor einer Art grüner, grunzender Kreatur.

Bevor ich mehr über dieses grüne und mysteriöse Wesen herausfinden konnte, verschwand es bereits wieder in der Menge. Aber was noch viel verstörender wirkte, war dass sich die Schüler um mich herum so verhielten, als wäre gar nichts gewesen. Nach der Zombie-Sichtung taten sie so, als wäre das normal hier im Adamstown Community College. Ich fand das ziemlich verdächtig, daher begann ich damit  mir einen Fluchtplan zu erstellen, im Falle einer plötzlichen Zombie Apokalypse.

Ich lief weiter und sah noch eine Prinzessin und eine Fee… Es blieben jetzt nur noch ein paar mögliche Erklärungen für diese komischen Zwischenfälle übrig. Entweder fand es jemand lustig mir irgendwelche Pillen ins Frühstück zu werfen, oder ich stand kurz davor wahnsinnig zu werden.

Glücklicherweise war es keines von beidem, sondern ein spezieller Tag genannt: „Welt Buch Tag“. „Das Ziel dieses Tages ist es Kinder zu motivieren Bücher zu lesen“, erklärte unser Geschichtslehrer, welcher heute als Frankenstein verkleidet war. Anscheinend verkleideten sich die meisten meiner Lehrer als eine berühmte Figur aus einem Buch ihrer Wahl. Es war ein sehr witziger Tag, auch wenn ich nicht sehr produktiv war. Ich meine, könntest du dich auf deine Arbeit konzentrieren, während dich Frankenstein beobachtet?

Wie auch immer: Wenn ihr meinen letzten Blog Beitrag gesehen habt, solltet ihr wissen, was ich das letzte Wochenende gemacht habe (also neben dem stundenlangen House of Cards Marathon) Ich ging Airsoft spielen mit Walter, einem Schulfreund. Für alle die nicht wissen was Airsoft ist:

Airsoft ist ein Sport in welchem man gegnerische Spieler mit nicht metallischen Kügelchen beschiesst, welche mit Replika-Waffen abgefeuert werden: die sogenannten Airsoft Guns.

Es war unglaublich und Walter hat es sogar gefilmt. Das Video kann man in meinem letzten Blog Beitrag finden, aber man wird mich darin nicht sehen, da wir während des Videos in verschiedenen Teilen des Gebäudes gekämpft haben. Trotzdem werdet ihr Airsoft in Aktion sehen und ich habe auch ziemlich viele Bilder von dem Gebäude gemacht in dem die Kämpfe durchgeführt wurden.

Zuerst Paintball und jetzt Airsoft? Ja und es hat Spass gemacht, aber keine Sorge, ich denke nicht daran der IRA beizutreten. Ich mag halt einfach Sport mit Waffen. Vielleicht auch weil ich früher schon ziemlich gut im Luftdruckschiessen war.

Diese Bilder wurden aufgenommen als ich den zweiten Platz gewonnen habe in einem Luftdruckschiess-Wettkampf namens „Goldiger Züri Träffer“. Ist schon einige Jahre her… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Frankenstein’s History Lesson

  1. Sometimes it is very nice when the reality does not explain. Then it is possible to think that we had something amazing?
    So do I when I read so well written, from TIM ……… Congratulations, you’re a writer ……

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

