Victorious Saturday

English Version

396878_352513241489391_429753844_n (1)It’s Saturday and I’m still sleeping. It’s great to sleep, I really love it. The best feeling is if you can stay awake until 2 o’clock the night before and know that you don’t have to get up the next morning. I know it’s not the healthiest habit but the best things in live are unhealthy, don’t you think?

But Margaret wakes me up early because today I will finally get the chance to see Conor playing football. So far, whenever I wanted to go, it didn’t work out for one reason or another. I’m sure you remember Eduardo my Mexican roommate. He is also going to join us. I quickly put on some clothes and then we all get in the car together and drive out to Conors game.

1f860ec481bf93be785a77e9ddb7922f8ef777842a12a4c8d799142ca75296baAs we get out the car, it’s quite windy and cold. Some would even say it’s freezing cold. It looks like it’s going to start to rain very soon. The playing field is nothing special, there are no benches to sit on or anything. So people just stand around the field and watch the action. Conor joins his team and they go through a training and warmup session before the start of the game.

While Conor is getting ready we are preparing our cameras for the big moment. Shortly before the game starts each of the two team gets together and discusses some last minute strategy options for winning the game. Soon after, the referee blows his whistle and that’s the signal for the kickoff. Conor plays very well and after just a couple of minutes he takes a first shot at the goal. The goalkeeper is ready and catches the ball. The game continues with a few attempts on the goal on either side. Conor’s team wins 1:0 in the end. Well played, Conor!

Well-Played-Meme

Margaret asks me if I would also like to see Sean playing and of course I’m interested to compare the two brothers and how they play. Sean’s match takes place on another football field not too far away. It’s only a ten minute drive from where we are. Because Sean plays in one of the higher leagues, his game takes place in one of the local stadiums. Sean is there but he doesn’t actually get to play today since he has to sit on the bench all the time. He plays a bit for fun during half-break and I can see that he is quite a talented player. It does actually start to rain during the game and we even get to see one of the well-known Irish rainbows. The playing field is always nice and green in Ireland but the disadvantage is that you have to play in the rain a lot. Sean’s team wins too and so it’s a successful day for my host family. Both sons win their game!iStock_Goal

112315Sunday comes around and I’m preparing for a typical homework day. But then something funny happens: One of Eduardo’s friends comes to visit him and he is from Switzerland! For the first time in several months I get to speak Swiss German again. The funny thing is that I didn’t really remember everything and it was difficult to form German sentences because I haven’t spoken German for so long. Eduardo’s friend attends one of the schools in Dublin so he was only able to stay for one hour. Still it was a fun experience to speak a bit of German again after almost two months of speaking only English.

Continue reading